Colton Haaker Gets First Ever GEICO EnduroCross Win At Las Vegas Opener

Justin Soule and Taddy Blazusiak round out the podium

Colton Haaker gets first ever GEICO EnduroCross win – Photo: Drew Ruiz

The 2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross championship, presented by Lucas Oil kicked off with a bang inside the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. Colton Haaker got his first ever GEICO AMA EnduroCross main event win by leading every lap of the main event. The Lucas Oil backed Kawasaki rider withstood heavy pressure from Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Justin Soule for the duration but never put a wheel wrong. KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak came back from a first turn crash to finish third. After going undefeated in 2011, Blazusiak had a tough day and crashed a few times in practice and during his heat race, which forced him to the Semi. Beta’s Cody Webb finished fourth ahead of Taylor Robert rounded out the top five. Mike Brown, Cory Graffunder, Kyle Redmond, Kevin Rookstool, Brobby Prochnau and Destry Abbott rounded out the top eleven riders that made the main event.

Mike Brown got the day started off by setting the fastest lap during the hot laps, where the riders do a single lap against the clock. Blazusiak finished second ahead of Webb, Graffunder and Robert.

The evening also included the support classes. The Open Amateur class, which was won by Max Gerston over Bryan Roper and Shane Cuthbertson. Kurt Nicoll won the Vet class over Josh Adams and Rich Black. Phil Smage, won the TrialsCross class ahead of Zach Sweeten and Ty Cullins.

The Women’s class was won KTM’s Maria Forsburg. Kacy Martinez passed Forsburg and led for a little while to make it interesting but a mistake forced her to settle for second. Louise Forsley finished third with Chantelle Bykerk fourth and Nicole Bradford rounding out the top five.

Las Vegas 1 Overview

2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Las Vegas 1 Image Gallery (Click for full size images)

Overall Results – Expert Class

  1. Colton Haaker (Kawasaki)
  2. Justin Soule (Kawasaki)
  3. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
  4. Cody Webb (Beta)
  5. Taylor Robert (Kawawaki)
  6. Mike Brown (KTM)
  7. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)
  8. Kyle Redmond (Husqvarna)
  9. Kevin Rookstool (Honda)
  10. Bobby Prochnau (KTM)
  11. Destry Abbott (Kawasaki)

Complete results are available at: http://endurocross.tracksideresults.com/class.asp?s=&c=&e=37. For more information, go to www.EnduroCross.com.

The Las Vegas opening round is schedule to air on the Lucas Motorsports Hour on NBC Sports Network on Saturday, June 23rd at 4:30 pm EST. Check your local listing or www.motorsportshour.com.

Round two of the GEICO AMA EnduroCross series will make a first ever stop in Sacramento, California inside the Power Balance Pavilion on Saturday, June 9th.

2012 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Schedule

Location Date Arena / Additional Information
Round 1 Las Vegas, NV May 4, 2012 Orleans Arena (Friday during Supercross weekend)
Round 2 Sacramento, CA June 9, 2012 Power Balance Pavilion
Round 3 Los Angeles, CA July 1, 2012 TBA
Round 4 Ontario, CA September 15, 2012 Citizens Business Bank Arena
Round 4 Denver, CO October 6, 2012 National Western Complex
Round 5 Everett, WA October 20, 2012 Comcast Arena
Round 6 Boise, ID October 27, 2012 Idaho Center
Round 7 Las Vegas, NV November 17, 2012 Orleans Arena

EnduroCross tracks incorporate various elements of extreme off road racing into a Supercross-style setting, including rocks, boulders, logs, sand, mud, a water-hole…and even a few special obstacles like giant tires thrown in! Known as the “toughest racing on two wheels,” this indoor off road racing will certainly keep you on your feet. For the seven EnduroCross events, be sure to log-on to www.motorsportshour.com for local air dates/times for the Lucas Motorsports Hour on the Versus network.

ENDUROCROSS is a registered trademark of Source Interlink Magazines, LLC.
For rules and race information visit www.EnduroCross.com or email endurocross@sorc.com.

Source: EnduroCross